Rollbacks
The Rollbacks feature of OneSite Patch allows you to rollback one or more patches or releases to an earlier, stable version.
Overview
Use case
A rollback is necessary when a new patch introduces critical issues -- such as security vulnerabilities, breaking bugs, or functionality conflicts with other installed products -- and the system needs to revert to a known functional state.
How Rollbacks work
When you create a rollback, you must specify the following:
The patch/release to rollback.
The Business Units to perform the rollback on.
Optionally, the target patch/release to roll back to.
If you do not specify a target patch, then the system targets the most recent version of the patch prior to the patch you are rolling back.
After creating a rollback, the following occurs for all clients in the targeted Business Units that have that specific patch version installed:
The desired state of the patch is set to Rollback.
The desired state of the target patch to rollback to is set to Mandatory Install.
Any patches between the target patch and the rolled back patch are set to Do not install.
Clients download the targeted patch.
Once the targeted patch is downloaded, the clients uninstall the product.
Once the product is uninstalled, the clients install the product with the targeted patch.
If you have Customized Product settings defined for the product you are reverting, the settings will be applied when the targeted patch is installed.
Do Rollbacks prevent future patches?
If a newer patch version for the product becomes available, it will be scheduled as normal according to your existing strategies. If you want to pause all updates from being applied for a product, you can use Exceptions to specify the last version allowed.
Removing a Rollback
You can remove a rollback by clicking on the ... to the right of the rollback entry and selecting Delete.
If you delete a rollback, the rolled back patch becomes a valid patching target for any strategy that targets that product.
Validate Rollback
In order to test if your rollback was successful, you can apply a manual Scan and verify which version displays in the Devices dashboard.
Select Asset Management > Devices then select a device from the Device Status table to open the Per-Device Patching State dashboard.
Select the Scan button above the Device Activity timeline.

Select Browse next to Target Business Units and select which business units you would like to verify.
If you would like to select individual clients, select Browse next to Target Clients instead of Target Business Units.
(Optional) Select Browse next to Patching Strategies to select the strategy that your product is included.
Toggle ON Scan All Software, however, this will take longer and is more resource intensive depending on your device's products.
(Optional) Toggle ON Reset Data if you want scan data for clients cleared from the Adaptiva Server and Client and repopulated with the requested scan.
Recommended only if having issues with scan.
Select Browse to select the software product(s) you'd like to scan included in your rollback.

Click OK.
You can track the progress of the rollback from the Device Activity timeline.

Walkthrough: Create a Rollback

Select the Advanced Settings > Flex Controls > Rollbacks from the side navigation
Click +New
Enter a unique Name and Description.
Select Browse to select the product you'd like to rollback.

(Optional) Click Browse to select the Rollback Target then select the version you want to rollback to.
If you do not select a specific version and leave Rollback Target blank, you will default to the last accepted version.
Select the desired version from the Installable Software table.
Click OK.
Select Browse to choose which Business Units you would like to apply to this rollback.
Click OK.
Click Save.

You have now created a rollback that will apply to a client device during the next scan.
Last updated
Was this helpful?