> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.adaptiva.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://docs.adaptiva.com/platform-guide/platform-features/understand-client-cache.md).

# Understand Content Cache

The Adaptiva Client Cache is a local content repository used by the Adaptiva Client to store patch content on managed devices. The Adaptiva Client downloads patch content into the cache to share with peers, keeping content local in order to maintain availability and reduce repeated network transfers. The client can download content from either peers within the subnet or the parent office.

## What Is the Adaptiva Client Cache

* Windows: `[drive:]\AdaptivaCache`
* Linux / Mac: `/opt/adaptiva/adaptivacache`

The **AdaptivaCache** is a hidden folder used by the Adaptiva Client to store content on endpoint devices. The **AdaptivaCache** folder is created at the root of every physical (non-removable) drive on a client device. For Linux and MacOS devices, the cache folder is created in **/opt/adaptiva/adaptivacache**. On computers with more than one writable drive, the Adaptiva Client will create an **AdaptivaCache** folder on each writable drive. Content will be stored on the disk with the most space at the time of download.

Administrators can override the default configuration of the Adaptiva Client Cache to define a custom cache location.

## How the Cache Functions

The Adaptiva Client Cache retain content on the device for reuse and sharing. Content is not normally removed unless a defined condition occurs, such as low disk space, client uninstall, un-publishing content in Adaptiva, corruption detection, or manual deletion. We recommend not removing content from the cache as it will become inconsistent with the client state.

During content transfer, secure hash validation is used to confirm content integrity. If content fails validation, it is removed from the receiving client cache. A notification is also sent to the machine that provided the content so that the corrupt copy can be removed there as well.

## When Content Is Deleted from the Cache

Content is rarely removed from the Adaptiva Client Cache, but it may be deleted under the following circumstances:

* *If the disk drive becomes full.*

  By default, the deletion threshold is 2% or 1GB remaining free disk space. When met, content in the cache is removed to make space for the operating system, applications, or end-user activity.
* *If the Adaptiva Client is uninstalled without preserving the cache.*

  You can explicitly choose to preserve the content cache when uninstalling, either by selecting the option in the wizard or using the `-nocachedel` command-line switch.
* *If the content is deleted from Configuration Manager.*

  When content is deleted from Configuration Manager, the Adaptiva Server notifies all devices with that content in the cache to delete it. If content is only removed from a Distribution Point, it will remain in the cache until it is fully deleted from ConfigMgr.
* *If the content is unpublished in Adaptiva.*

  When content is un-published from the Adaptiva Server, clients are notified to to remove that content from the cache.
* *If the content is detected as corrupt.*

  If the secure hash validation fails, the client deletes the content and notifies the sender to remove their copy.
* *If the content is manually deleted by someone with the required NTFS permissions.*
